You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 24, 2014.

Oracle announced Java SE 8 will be released at March 2014. I always watch the lambda because I am very interested in Big data. Usually I use Python and very like the Python’s map, reduce, filter and lambda functional programming. Now I start to learn Java 8 Lambda and will become next big thing for Java.

1. First read the Java official tutorial:
Method References to understand the Java method as function of object type and how to refer to it.
Lambda Expressions to understand the anonymous class and functional interface. Then how Java 8 can be used instead anonymous class.

2. Some useful links.

3. I feel Python is more easier to learn. If you are interested it, see it
Python: Lambda Functions

4. Look at how groovy doing, From Groovy to Java 8